Historic home tour provides a dose of Balboa Island charm
June 20, 2015 | 7:45 p.m.
Ruby Avenue resident Cindy Huston points out the original mantle and fireplace at the 212 Ruby Ave. home as part of the Balboa Island Historic Home tour. (Susan Hoffman / June 20, 2015)
Homeowners opened their doors to the public when the Balboa Island Museum and Historical Society Home Tour showcased eight homes Saturday.
The homes were built between 1913 and 1953. Some have been completely gutted and remodeled, while others remain in their original form.
The home at 212 Ruby Ave. still has many of its original features, including the fireplace and 8-inch thick plaster walls. The residence at 108 Turquoise Ave. displayed nautical flags painted on the dining room wall symbolizing faith, hope and love.
The oldest house on the tour, which was built in 1913 and is at 526 South Bayfront, has undergone extensive remodeling and enjoys a view of the harbor from the master bedroom.
The Quandt family managed to maintain and preserve the 1926 cottage structure even after gutting and remodeling the original house at 110 Pearl Ave.
118 Apolena Ave., owned by John Robertson, is a restored cottage with a blend of old and new styles. The home is one of 20 built on the island by architect and builder Leon Yale in 1932. Yale was known for his signature detailing, using tongue and groove joints, pine walls, sloped vaulted ceilings, wood floors and alcoves.
— Susan Hoffman